The English Premier League

The English Premier League (EPL) or the Premier League, as commonly referred to, as is the top-level of the English Professional Football system that runs from August-May of the following year and is contested by 20 best teams through a relegation-promotion system. Teams in the Premier League play a total of 38 games each during the entire season, with each team playing the other in 19 games both home and away.

A team is awarded three points in case of a win, one point to each team in case of a draw, and no point for the losing team. The team that garners the most points when the season comes to an end becomes the automatic league winners, and in an instance where teams draw on points, a decision is made based on the goal difference (Number of goals scored minus the number of goals conceded).

Promotion and Relegation

As stated earlier, the Premier League operates on a promotion-relegation system where the bottom three teams are dropped to the second tier of English football which is known as the Championship while the top two teams in the second tier get automatic promotion to the Premier League. The remaining promotion slot is filled after playoffs between the 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th placed clubs in the Championship. Since the creation of the Premier League back in 1992, only six teams have never been relegated to the second tier, and they are Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea, Manchester United, Everton, and Tottenham Hotspurs.

Since 1992, 49 clubs have participated in the league competition, with six of them winning the title since then, and they include (13) Manchester United, (5) Chelsea, (4) Manchester City, (3) Arsenal and one each for Leicester City and Blackburn Rovers. Manchester City has recorded the most points during a season, having finished 2017-18 with 100 points.